Thistle be me

Welcome to my first blog. I am not the least experienced internet user, I do not mix up upload and download but the University of Vienna has a research  project training dogs to use touch pads . I am somewhere inbetween. So I am open to guidance, hints, tips and one on one tutorials from someone used to teaching cats ballet. I am also asking for some generosity of spirit if I am making horrendous internet gaffs.

Down to business. I am a civil Celebrant, living and working in Edinburgh, Scotland. “Oh Ok” I hear you say because that’s what most people say. Sometimes with a little concern that there;’s about to be a conversation about religion and maybe I am about to start recruiting. Its a lovely way to start a conversation with strangers and near strangers. Lucky that no one puts pressure on first impressions.

A celebrant is a person that performs ceremonies. Civil means non religious. More specifically I am non religious, non state and not a Humanist. Also I am independent of all the groups of celebrants, including the Independent Celebrants Association. Please don’t loose the will to stop reading, I promise its not nearly as complicated as it sounds.

In its simplest terms, I have my own sets of conditions and values regarding what ceremonies I will perform and what content I will include. I haven’t found a group of people to affiliate myself with. But that doesn’t mean I won’t or that I am difficult to get a long with (looking back to those introductions it is hard to believe but please stick with me)

This is a short one because I am sure you are exhausted reading this far and I am certainly exhausted including those links (impressive no?). If this goes well, my next post will have pictures and colour and probably some actual content too.

I am a better reader than I am internerter so I believe I am to ask for questions or comments. Please do, I’ll be delighted if anyone I am not related to gets this far. I am going to be a definite attempt to link this to my twitter account, but I can never really get over the fact it should be called tweeter so don’t hold your breath.

Leave a comment